title="Ventnor Town Council on the Isle of Wight">

IWALCMon, 27th September 2021

Ventnor Town Council is a member of IWALC, the organisation that is committed to:

  • represent the interests of Town & Parish Councils in the Isle of Wight;
  • provide support and co-ordination for their work;
  • develop inherent strength to work with all other tiers of local, regional and national government; and
  • protect, consolidate and develop the existing rights, privileges and functions of local councils.

The Island has 33 town and parish councils, 32 of which are in membership of IWALC. One councillor representative of each is eligible to attend the quarterly meetings of its Executive that also appoints a General Purposes and Finance Committee to meet monthly.

Ventnor Town Council is represented on IWALC by Councillor Harry Rees.
IWALC appoints representatives to a wide range of other organisations, including on the Island the Island Partnership, CAB, Rural Community Council and Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) and elsewhere, the Hampshire & Isle of Wight Crimestoppers, the National Association of Local Councils and on the Scrutiny Commitee of the Isle of Wight Council.

Its Chair for 20013/14 is Councillor Gill Kennett of Freshwater Parish Council and its Treasurer is Councillor Bob Blezzard of Sandown Gurnard Parish Council. Secretarial support for its work is provided John Medland.

More details are available from its website by clicking this link.